your soul.


your story.


new worlds.


outside the lines.


Tuesday, September 16, 2008

GCC Tours Linda Gerber

The next GCC Tour is Linda Gerber, author of the fabulous book, Death by Bikini (I think we can all relate), who has come out with a new book called DEATH BY LATTE! I was actually just at a book signing at Wellesley Booksmith near Boston, MA and her book, Death by Bikini, was prominently displayed as a top read. Silly me, I didn't even think to bring a camera that day (and I haven't figured out how to work the one on my Treo yet -- come to think of it, I can't even make calls on the darn thing. What's the point of having a cell phone that you can only use for emailing people? Grrrrrr.....) Sorry for going off on a tangent. Back to Linda and her awesome book that everyone should go out and read. I also should mention that Linda is throwing a launch cyber-party on her blog. The party will run from September 18-22. Here's the YouTube promo video link:
Check it out!!

Here's a little more info on Linda, her book and the answers to my GCC questions:

Do you (or did you ever) have a writing group? Who are the first people to read your book once it's completed?
Yes! I have a phenomenal writing group. We've been together for over six years. They are the first to see the finished product, along with my two daughters.

What writers do you consider your "sisters"? Are there any published writers that you hang out or tour with a lot? Call? Email? IM?
I absolutely consider my crit group to be my sisters. My agency also has an "agency sistahs" listserv where we can talk and support each other. I also have gotten close to several members of my TFC blog group. Speaking for myself, I'd be lost without the understanding and support of these smart, fabulous women.

Who do you find yourself being compared to or are often put together with in reading lists or book clubs?
I've been pleased to see my name on the same lists as Jenny O'Connell, Sarah Dessen and Meg Cabot. Perhaps my favorite list was the "must, must, must reads for teens" on the Tyra blog along with Melissa Walker and Stephenie Meyer. Yeah, I'll take it.

What writers do you wish would be in your "clique"? (It doesn't have to be in your genre….doesn't even have to be living! For example, I'd pick Alice Hoffman, Jodi Picoult, Sarah Dessen, Oscar Wilde, Stephenie Meyer, Meg Cabot, Stephen King and Joan Didion).
Oh, man! How big can my clique be? I'd pick Lisa Unger, Marcus Sakey, Tess Gerritson, Lee Child, Brad Meltzer, Stephen King, Lisa McMann, Melissa Walker, Sarah Dessen, Meg Cabot, Stephenie Meyer, Melissa Marr, Libba Bray and sooo many more.

If someone was going to join your book club, what would be a "must read" in order to join?
It would probably change as I found new favorites. I think right now it would be Sisters of Misery…

[[ get brownie points for that answer!!! xoxoxoxox - mkh]]

What was your "initiation" to writing?
Waaay back in fifth grade, I wrote a story for my teacher's birthday. As a gift. He corrected it and handed it back. Totally deflated me. But it did show me that I loved writing enough to stick with it, even in the face of disappointment.

When did you first feel that you'd officially joined the "published writers' club"?
Wait. There's a club? Seriously, getting published used to be the one true goal, and now it's all about getting starred reviews, making the lists and winning awards. I'm not sure when I'll ever feel I'm 'in.' I'm just having fun doing what I love to do.

What was your best/worst memory of high school?
Best: Friday night football games. They were a social event at my school, better even than dances. Worst: Squeezing into Sasson jeans.

In SISTERS OF MISERY, the last place new members want to go to is Misery Island. But if you had the choice, what island would you go to and what would you take with you?
Kauai is the only Hawaiian island I haven't been to yet, so I would go there and I would take a suitcase full of books!

[[I've been there!!!--one of the few islands I've ever been to and it's amazing!!! Not to mention that Josh "Sawyer" Holloway films LOST there. *****sigh******* If you go, I'm going to sneak into your suitcase of books!) - mkh]]

Finally, what can you tell me about your book? Give me a quick run-down about why I'd want to pick it for my own book club.
Death by Latte is a quick read. It's fast-paced and lean, but suspenseful with a touch of romance and a lot of action - something for everyone!

Thanks for stopping by my blog to answer my questions, Linda. Here's some additional info on her latest book, Death by Latte. It makes me want to run right out to Starbucks right now to get my caffeine fix (and yet, protect myself at the same time). Thanks, Linda!!

by Linda Gerber

Paperback: 224 pages

Publisher: Puffin (September 18, 2008)

Language: English

ISBN-10: 0142411183

ISBN-13: 978-0142411186

Following on the heels of this summer’s killer YA mystery, DEATH BY BIKINI, DEATH BY LATTE (Puffin Paperback; September 18, 2008; $9.99) is a modern-day romantic mystery/suspense in the tradition of Victoria Holt and Philippa Carr.

DEATH BY LATTE Aphra Connolly, who had been living a quiet existence on her father’s secluded island resort, until Seth Mulo turns up and steals her heart… and provides information that leads her to find her mom in Seattle. But the reunion isn’t quite what she expected. Aphra’s mom, Natalie, doesn’t seem happy to see Aphra, and Natalie’s boyfriend, Joe, insists that Aphra go home. Even worse, Seth shows up, only to ask her to return the ring he had given her that summer. At least Natalie’s good-looking neighbor is sympathetic. But when Joe is found dead at a nearby coffee shop, Aphra discovers her whole trip to Seattle has been based on a lie. And now someone just might be trying to kill her. . . .

Praise for DEATH BY LATTE:

Great characters, plot twists, and non-stop action and excitement.”

YA Books Central

Full of action, suspense, and mystery, Death by Latte is a thrilling edition to the Death by series!”

The Story Siren

An entertaining Seattle joy ride that… teens will appreciate.”

Genre-go-Round Reviews

Death by Latte is a compelling read for those who like mystery, action, and adventure with a little romance and humor thrown in for good measure.”

Purple Pens Reviews

Enjoyed quite thoroughly!”

Critical Mass

This exciting installment features non-stop thrills and leaves you guessing right up to the end.”

Presenting Lenore

High action and suspense.”

Library Thing

Praise for the DEATH BY series:

Will capture mystery fans.”

G. Engberg - Booklist

Strong writing and plenty of plot twists.”

The Providence Journal

Fast-paced, fun, and maybe just a little scary.”

YA New York

Just “the right amount of intrigue, suspense, humor and romance.”

Flamingnet Book Reviews

Five enchantments.”

Enchanting Reviews

Refreshing read.”

Simply Books


Linda recently returned to life in the Midwest after four years in Japan, where she served as the Regional Advisor for the Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators. She currently lives and writes in Dublin, OH, blissfully ignoring her husband, four kids, and one very naughty puppy.






Thursday, September 11, 2008

51,525 to five, six, seven and nine!

Okay, so you have four spots on the top ten Amazon list, Ms. Stephenie Meyer, but I'm closing in at number fifty-one thousand five hundred and twenty-five. Pretty, pretty, pretty darn close. I'm moving up the ranks. Do you feel the pressure? Watch out, 'cause I'm closing in on the top ten. Just give me a week (or month or months...years, maybe?) and I'll be pulling ahead. Let's wait and see....

Thanks, Melissa Walker!

One of my wonderful members of the GCC (Girlfriend's Cyber Circuit), Melissa Walker, author of the Violet series, sent me a pic of my book at a Barnes and Noble in West Village, NY. Super exciting!! If anyone wants to send along a picture of my book in stores across the country (or in Canada, where I hear that a SISTERS OF MISERY sighting is more rare than a Bigfoot sighting), please send it along. If you want to send a pic of yourself holding the book (or even better, buying the book :) ) feel free and I'll post it here.

FYI, SISTERS OF MISERY is going to be selected as a Halloween read in many upcoming publications (including the online version of FAMILY CIRCLE). I will post the links and the publications as they come in. Right now SISTER is the September Book of the Month pick for LOMG Teen Reads and the RIP III Challenge online. So, if you are looking for a good online bookclub to join, check those out.

Anyway, here's the pic from Melissa Walker. Thanks again, Melissa!!!